What to grow…..

This past week has been super busy. Tests, projects, papers to grade, volleyball tournaments, no time to work on my flowers.

ūüė¶

But……this week I will.

Lets begin with letting you all in on what Prairieland Flowers is all about. We are a cut flower production farm (in the making) that specializes in producing their products in a sustainable way. Alot of the flowers will be ones that you see out in your pastures and ones native to Nebraska. We are currently located at my parents farm but will be changing locations in the future.

Flowers that we will grow include:

  • Yarrow
  • Penstemon
  • Liatris
  • Goldenrod
  • Rudebekia
  • Sedum
  • Echinacea
  • Snapdragon
  • Iris
  • Hosta leaves
  • Sweet Pea
  • Ageratum
  • Amaranthus
  • Lupine
  • Veronica
  • Sunflower

Many other flowers will be produced also, with weather and time permitting.

2010 York County Fair: Nebraska Sunset
 includes: Zebra grass, sunflowers, daylilies

Alot¬†of requests have been¬† made by numerous friends to produce Echinacea (purple cone flower) all year long. This is possible in years to come. So, no worries Suzy I will supply you with your “prairie flowers” in the winter-time soon.

My academic advisor and friend, David Lambe, suggested growing ornamental grasses on my farm. Dave owns cutts floral distributors, in Lincoln NE, and says that grasses are selling like “hot cakes”. When the time comes for me to expand my business away from my parents farm, I will look into these grasses.

Any other suggestions for flowers are welcomed. I am always up for alittle experimentation and adventure.

To my fellow Nebraskans: Enjoy the beautiful weather this week!!!

Happy Tuesday!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

