Saving your pennies, nickels, and dimes

I used to have this piggy bank. Ok, it was a teddy bear and its color was that of peaches. It was my favorite. I put all of my spare change and weekly allowances in it. But, when the time came and it was too full, I broke it open and deposited that money into the bank.

The feeling of making your first trip to the bank, with that ziplock baggie full of pennies, nickels, and dimes, is empowering. You hold that money in your hands, that money that you have saved since you were three. I put that money into the bank to keep it in a safe place. For the bank to hold onto until I was ready to use it.

Now, what do I do? I’m sure that very first deposit that was put into my account is gone by now, but I am still saving my money. Counting my tens, twenties, and fifties as they are directly deposited into my account. Saving up for a walk-in cooler, supplies, and other things. Rather than gum, candy, and a new barbie doll.

Check out these entrepreneurs who started with literally dollars and now are successful businesses.

Leave a Reply

